Lost for a moment

September 27, 2005 at 10:27 pm 2 comments

I get up and find myself on the side upper berth of a train. I look around and underneath. None of the people around are recognizable. I can identify only the pillow below my head and the bedsheet over me. There’s a book beside me “The Interpreter” but i dont remember reading it or buying it. An half filled water bottle in the corner. But when did I buy this? And when did I drink water? Infact i dont even remember getting in the train. Where am i going? Where is the train heading? When did I board the train? Every damn question on my mind is unanswered. I ask for the time to the guy standing next to the gate. Its 7 in the morning. What’s happening to me?


I check my pockets for some kind of clue. Yes there is one. The ticket. It reads Ahmedabad to Chennai. Berth number 8. I check my seat number, yes I am on the correct seat. But wait. When did I go to ahmedabad? why did I go? Finally, I get down my seat to find if I am carrying any luggage. I can only recognize my slippers lying beath the seat and all the other items under are unknown. I take out the slippers and wear them. While thinking what to do I walk towards the gate. Its drizzling outside.

Man whom I asked time is at the gate enjoying the drops of water sprinkling inside the train. I decide to ask him about the events of last night. When I am just about to open my mouth he turns and gives me a frightening look. He looks at me in a bizzare manner. I revert my decision turn around and walk back. I try to recollect the events of previous day but in vain. I remember everything, my name, my age, my profession, my city and every damn thing I am related to. Why the hell is this happening to me? I think to myself. I look around once more. Everyone is busy sleeping except for the guy at the gate. I see a guy walking towards me and everything is crystal clear.

All the questions are answered in a moment’s time. I am heading back home after attending a family function. Since my ticket was not along with the other family members i had to come here to sleep. I had picked up a water bottle and a book along with the pillow and the bedsheet before coming to this place. It was my brother
walking towards me.

Entry filed under: Short n Sweet.

Just another software engineer. Who’s true?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Ranting Human  |  October 6, 2005 at 1:19 pm

    Talk about late realisation… Well, better late than never, I guess. I would have gone mad if I were in such a situation…

    Reply
  • 2. Anonymous  |  October 11, 2005 at 4:02 pm

    Well you didn’t actually know when you woke up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


TinyTweets

  • RT @venkat_s: While everyone is so excited about eclipse, please remember there are other fine IDEs and text editors. 1 day ago
  • RT @dcurtis: “People ask me what my definition of success is, and for me it's where you're truly okay with losing everything you have." —… 1 week ago
  • RT @StevenALowe: That beautiful code that you once saw was not the first revision #refactoring 2 weeks ago

Feeds


